MBA Nominates Mark Jones of Amerifirst Home Mortgage as 2022 MBA Vice Chairman

The Mortgage Bankers Association nominated Mark Jones, CEO and Co-Founder of Amerifirst Home Mortgage, Kalamazoo, Mich. to serve as its Vice Chairman for the 2022 membership year. He is expected to be installed at the association’s 108th Annual Convention & Expo this October in San Diego.

“Mark is a fierce advocate for mortgage lenders and their customers, and I am pleased to welcome him to MBA’s leadership ladder,” said Susan Stewart, MBA 2021 Chair and CEO of SWBC Mortgage, San Antonio, Texas. “He is an industry trailblazer and a valuable voice for sustainable, affordable housing and communities across the country, making him a terrific fit to lead MBA and its members.”   

Jones is an active MBA member who currently serves as Chair of the Audit Committee and is a member of the IMB Executive Committee (which he previously co-chaired), the State Relations Committee, the Rural Housing Working Group and the MORPAC Committee. He was also a member of MBA’s 2019-2020 Board of Directors.

Jones co-founded Amerifirst Home Mortgage in 1983 and has overseen the company’s growth from a single site in Kalamazoo to more than 80 locations and 900 employees across the country, making it one of Inc. 5000’s “Fastest-Growing Private Companies in America” for six years in a row. Amerifirst is the No. 1 USDA rural housing lender and No. 3 FHA lender in Michigan, and manages a $6 billion servicing portfolio.

Jones is an industry leader and advocates in Washington, D.C., and Amerifirst’s home state of Michigan on a number of issues facing mortgage lenders. He was named Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year for Michigan and Northwest Ohio in 2016 and serves on the Board of Directors for Southwest Michigan First, an economic development organization in Southwest Michigan.

Jones holds a Bachelor of Science in business administration and management from Virginia Commonwealth University. He competed on the Varsity Swimming & Diving team and won the 1979 Virginia Intercollegiate State Championship in 1-meter springboard diving.