MAA Accepting Nominations for Steering Committee; Deadline COB Today

The MBA Mortgage Action Alliance is accepting nominations for three at-large seats on the 2021-2022 MAA Steering Committee in accordance with the MAA bylaws. The nomination deadline is 5:00 p.m. ET today, Nov. 25.

MAA is governed by a nine-member steering committee, which is responsible for assisting in formulation, implementation and execution of MAA’s grassroots activities supporting MBA’s broader legislative and regulatory agenda.

As a member of the committee, you will complete outreach to your peers to become active in MAA, help identify and execute MAA enrollment campaigns, and promote active participation in calls to action and other advocacy initiatives aimed at strengthening the industry’s voice and lobbying power in Washington, DC, and state capitals across America. Click here to view a full list of expectations.

MAA Steering Committee at-large members will serve with incoming MAA Chairman Steven Plaisance from January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2022 to coincide with the 2022 election cycle.

Who May Apply

Seats on the MAA Steering Committee are open to all active MAA members. Currently we are holding elections for three open at-large seats. Individuals who are nominated but do not win the election will be offered an opportunity to participate in regular steering committee calls on a non-voting basis.

Current at-large members of the 2019-2020 MAA Steering Committee are:

  • Chad Church, New American Funding
  • Leora Ruzin, CMB, Equity Prime Mortgage
  • Mary Rzucidlo, CMB, South State Bank


MAA elections will take place on the following schedule: 

  • Nomination Period: Nov. 18–25, at 5:00 p.m. ET
  • Candidates Announced: Dec. 2 at 10:00 a.m. ET
  • Online Voting: Dec. 2-9, deadline 5:00 p.m. ET
  • Announcement of New Members: Dec. 10 at 10:00 a.m. ET

To nominate yourself or a colleague, complete this form.

If you have any questions about MAA elections, please contact Rosie Sheehan.