MBA Honors Union Home Mortgage’s Cosgrove with Woodward Distinguished Service Award


BOSTON–The Mortgage Bankers Association honored Bill Cosgrove, CMB, President and CEO of Union Home Mortgage, Strongsville, Ohio, with its Andrew D. Woodward Distinguished Service Award here at the association’s Annual Convention & Expo.

The award is presented in recognition of dedication and prominent service to MBA and the mortgage lending industry in a variety of capacities involving both legislative and regulatory activities.

“Bill Cosgrove has made a tremendous contribution to the Mortgage Bankers Association and the industry as a whole,” said Rodrigo López, CMB, MBA Chairman and Executive Chairman of NorthMarq Capital, Omaha, Neb. “He joined the MBA’s Board of Directors in 2007, helping to lead the industry through one of its most challenging times. Along the way, he has held nearly every leadership position within the Association, including serving as Chairman in 2015. I have come to know Bill as my colleague and friend and am honored to present him with this award.”

The award was named to honor former MBA Chairman, the late Andy Woodward, who set an extraordinary example through his leadership, especially with his involvement in the Council to Shape Change Report.

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor an individual can receive from his or her fellow MBA members. Nominees for the annual award must meet the following criteria:
–Be associated with an MBA member firm;
–Compile a record of long, sustained and extraordinary service to MBA and the mortgage industry;
–Have a strong reputation for ethical and professional conduct.

Cosgrove began his career 28 years ago as a loan officer. He served at the state level as President of the Ohio MBA, on the MBA Residential Board of Governors, as a member of MBA’s Board of Directors since 2007, as Chairman of MBA’s GSE Repurchase Request Task Force and as Co-Chairman of the Loan Originator Qualification Task Force. As Chairman of MORPAC, he raised more than $1.1 million during his tenure. He had previously been awarded the Burton C. Wood National Legislative Service Award as well as MBA’s Certified Mortgage Banker designation.