HUD Secretary Marcia L. Fudge to Resign March 22

(Photo: HUD Marcia L. Fudge testifies before the U.S. House Committee on Financial Services on January 11, 2024.)

Marcia L. Fudge, the 18th Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, announced she will resign effective March 22, 2024.

Sec. Fudge speaks at MBA Annual, October 18, 2021

Fudge noted she has worked at every level of government, including as mayor of Warrensville Heights, Ohio, a congressional staffer, a member of Congress and Cabinet Secretary.

“For the last three years, I have fully embraced HUD’s mission to create strong, sustainable, inclusive communities and quality affordable homes for all,” she said. “The people HUD serves are those who are often left out and left behind. These are my people. They serve as my motivation for everything we have been able to accomplish. For that reason, it is with mixed emotions that I announce my resignation effective March 22, 2024.”

When Secretary Fudge departs, Deputy Secretary Adrianne Todman will serve as Acting Secretary.

The White House released a statement from President Joe Biden calling Fudge a “strong voice for expanding efforts to build generational wealth” through homeownership and lowering costs for America’s renters.

“Thanks to Secretary Fudge, we’ve helped first-time homebuyers, and we are working to cut the cost of renting,” Biden said. “And there are more housing units under construction right now than at any time in the last 50 years.”

Federal Housing Finance Agency Director Sandra L. Thompson noted the country has faced numerous housing challenges over the last few years, including recovering from the COVID-19 pandemic, limited affordable housing supply and the continuing effects of housing discrimination and homelessness. “Secretary Fudge took decisive action to address these and other challenges,” she said.

The Washington Post reported Fudge is only the second Cabinet secretary to leave the administration. Labor Secretary Marty Walsh resigned last year to become executive director of the National Hockey League’s player’s union.